Kansas Thunder Series wraps up at Stockton

first_imgBy Mike HughesSTOCKTON, Kan. (Aug. 17) – The Kansas Thunder Series closed out the 2017 season at Rooks County Speedway in Stockton on Thursday evening during the Rooks County Free Fair. Point champions in two of the four divisions were up for grabs.Four drivers were still in the running for the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock crown as 19 cars took the green flag. Zach Olmstead took the lead on the opening lap before Brady Bencken took over a lead he would not relinquish. Three cautions kept the field close but Bencken was up to the occasion to score the win.Garrett Hager charged from his 11th starting spot to take second, followed by Olmstead. Cody Williams finished fourth, good enough to claim the series championship. Fifth was Jeromy Wagner.The Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod crown was also on the line as the green flag fell.  Tanner Portenier took the lead on the opening lap and was also first to the checkers in the 12-lap feature.Tracy Holloway finished in the runner-up spot, which was good enough to claim the points title.  Tyler Watts, Adam Weber and Pat Bedore rounded out the top five.The closest race of the night was in the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car division where Casey Woken had the point title wrapped up at the drop of the green. Jason Rogers took advantage of his pole starting spot to charge to the lead in the 15-lap feature.A couple cautions gave the field a chance but Rogers held on for the win as the top seven cars were nose-to-tail most of the race, with some swapping positions back in the pack.  Kyle Pfeifer held on for second, followed by Woken, Chad Sterling and Shaylon Holloway.Tyler Frye also took advantage of his pole starting spot to jump to the lead in the IMCA Modified main event and never looked back as he dominated the 15-lap feature.The battle was for second as Randy Wilson held off Marty Clark and Steven Bowers for the runner-up spot. Tyler Sutton rounded out the top five. David Murray Jr., who was a DNF, had a big enough point lead to claim the series championship.last_img